Too Tired for a Unique Title

It’s currently 9:11 PM, and I have already been asleep tonight.  I got in bed immediately after dinner, while it was still light out, and dozed off.  My current condition is a result of substantial hours I have put in over the last week.  

I was a man on a mission this week; I was determined that by the end of this weekend, the living room would be painted, and the floor would be started.  My parents both cautioned me to not get ahead of myself, but I wanted the drywalling, sanding, painting process entirely behind us.  As of now, I can say: mission accomplished.  I’m sore, and I’m starting the work week in a tired state, but the goal was reached.

On Monday night, I didn’t work at the house… but I did get to meet John Calipari at his book signing thanks to my Uncle Tim and Aunt Jenny.  

Image

On Tuesday night, I got the walls sanded down (from the skimming we did last weekend) and wiped them down with a mop to get them ready to be painted. 

Image

 

On Wednesday night, I rolled a first coat of white on the living room ceiling.  This actually took me an embarrassingly long amount of time, because the roller I started out with was leaving stray fibers all throughout the paint, so I spent significant time picking them out and redoing spots.  

On Thursday night, my brother came to help again, and we put a second coat of white on the ceiling and a first coat of color on the walls. 

The beginning of painting the walls gave me some serious anxiety. Throughout this process, the paint color in this room has actually been the subject of some controversy.  As anyone who comes into my house will be able to tell, I am a big fan of greys- as shown by the bathroom and now the living room.  I knew from day one that I wanted the living room to be grey…. but I was picturing a dark grey.  In my mind, I was picturing a cozy, dark room where cold winter days would be spent on the couch.  Thus, the paint color that I originally picked out for the living room was called “Zinc” by Martha Stewart.  This is the most accurate google image for the color (http://7thhouseontheleft.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/goffice11.jpg).  

I know… you’re thinking, “Whoa, that’s really dark.”  Erica agrees.  She walked in the weekend I picked out paint colors and painted some samples on the walls and, without a moment’s hesitation,  blurted out, “Umm yeah, I HATE that color.”  This was pretty bold coming from a woman who generally refrains from confrontation or expressing negativity regarding my decisions.  She envisioned a living room that was warm and inviting and full of sunlight and energy.  This paint color debate is, in reality, a reflection of our personalities… Erica wanted something full of energy, and I wanted something that was conducive to lounging.  In the end, I caved on this issue.  To anyone who is shocked, yes, occasionally I do just throw in the towel instead of standing my ground.  She was considerate enough to stick with grey since that was my vision all along and picked out something many shades later on the same spectrum.  Even though I let her win this one, I still proceeded to bitch for the next four or five months and told anyone who was willing to listen about how evil she was for vetoing the paint color I loved and making me go with a different one.  On Thursday night, as Casey and I were rolling the paint onto the first wall, I came to a realization…. brace yourself….

I was completely and 100% wrong.  

People often disagree with me when I claim this, but I am not the least bit ashamed to admit I’m wrong when I believe that I am…. how often I believe that is a different issue.  Nevertheless, when it came to the living room paint color, I was wrong; plain and simple.  

Watching the room go from neutral colors with an overall white covering of drywall mud was honestly a little startling.  

Image

 

As the  paint was drying, I was immediately concerned that even this lighter version of grey was a mistake; that it was too dark for this room.  The color I had picked out originally would have been a complete disaster, and I’m so glad Erica stood her ground on it.  After the first coat dried and I got to see what the final color would be, I felt better about the grey; it wasn’t as dark as it looked when it was rolling on.  After the second coat on Saturday morning, I was completely happy with the color.

Image

Image

 

 

With the painting complete, we had reached a serious milestone: the “messy” portion of the project is over.  No more drywall dust.  No more sanding.  No more painting, except woodwork and small touchups.  Without having to worry about carrying construction dust, dirt, and paint into the “finished” portions of the house, there was no more need for the cardboard paths that have been covering the kitchen and hallway for the last few months.  

Image

 

I had almost forgotten what the floors looked like underneath all the cardboard and drop-cloths.  With the living room painted, my dad was able to do his trim work around the bay window:

Image

I feel like the addition of the trim makes the window standout in the grey wall and helps make it more of a focal paint, as was the goal in removing the awnings.  

He also trimmed around the entrance to the kitchen. Before and after:

Image

Image

 

I’m still always impressed what an effect a little bit of white woodwork can have on a space. 

With the living room painted, I started on the floor today with the goal of reaching the fireplace.  

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Just for the sake of my own satisfaction, I calculated it out, and I am 33% finished…. hope to be 100% within a week.  When the floor is finished and the living room is officially a room, as opposed to a construction zone, the significant work will be behind us, and the whole house will have the “home” feel that the other rooms have started to have.  Most importantly, the fact that I don’t have to do any more drywall-related activities until I take on the basement project makes me want to either drink beer, cry tears of joy, or some combination of both.  

Other more minor, yet still important progress from this week…

The kitchen sink is in:

Image

The shower fixtures are in:

Image

 

 

Back bedroom crown molding is hung:

Image

 

Image

 

The ceiling fan that was originally in the kitchen has been cleaned and re-installed in the back bedroom with new, less frilly globes:

Image

 

The bathroom and bedroom doors have been painted and rehung:

 

Image

 

My Aunt Diane has graciously volunteered to make the cushion for the window seat, so she and my mom went out to purchase the fabric yesterday:

Image

 

The toe strip in the hall closet was installed:

Image

 

The installation of the toe strip isn’t much to look at it.  However, this four feet of wood carries some significance with it… 

Image

 

In the entire house…. the hall closet is the first project that is 100% complete.  At first, this felt a little underwhelming, but progress is progress, and here it is: the first part of the house that is completely finished.  I’m sure you’re completely blown away by this closet.  

Everything on here has taken place in the last week and is the result of many hours of work…. which is the reason for my exhausted state at the moment.  Aside from the progress with the living room paint and floor, the most exciting portion of the weekend was a visit from my Uncle Kelly to plan the bookcases that he’s going to build to go around my fireplace.  

Exciting milestones on the horizon, but for now… BED. 

One thought on “Too Tired for a Unique Title

  1. WOW—WHAT A WEEK OF PROGRESS. HELL OF A LOT ACCOMPLISHED LAST WEEK AND I SEE YOU DID MAKE IT TO THE FIREPLACE WITH THE FLOOR AFTER THE INSPECTOR LEFT. GREAT JOB! COULD HAVE DONE MORE IF YOU DIDN’T WASTE MONDAY NIGHT, MAYBE EVEN HAVE BEEN TWO THIRDS FINISHED.
    THAT SHOT INTO THE KITCHEN REALLY REVEALS THE DEGREE OF FINISH WORK COMPLETED AND I KNOW OTHER ROOMS ARE IN THAT SAME STATUS. ALMOST HOME. YOU NEED TO LEARN THE TERM MOVIE DIRECTORS USE AT THE COMPLETION OF FILMING BECAUSE YOU’LL BE ABLE TO DECLARE IT LOUDY, SOON. SHAME BOATING SEASON WILL INTERFERE WITH MOVING FORWARD ON YOUR MAN CAVE. OH WELL, BENGALS FOOTBALL WILL STILL BE ENJOYED THERE. TO REPEAT–GREAT JOB KYLE AND TO ALL YOUR HELPERS, ESPECIALLY THE TWO MAJOR CONTRIBUTORS THAT GUIDED AND HELPED YOU GET THIS FAR.

Leave a Reply

